2006 Annual Report ARLIS Canada

Incoming Chapter Officers, April 2007

Marilyn Nasserden, Chair
Jonathan Franklin, Past Chair
Cheryl Siegel, Secretary/Treasurer
Ilga Leja, Atlantic Region Representative
Mary Lochhead, Prairie Region Representative
Renata Guttman, ARLIS/NA MOQ (Montreal-Ottawa-Quebec) Chapter Representative
Michele Laing, ARLIS/NA Ontario Chapter Representative
Cheryl Siegel, ARLIS/NA Northwest Chapter Representative

On Monday May 8th, 29 Canadian members gathered for the annual business meeting at the ARLIS/NA Conference in Banff, with Jonathan Franklin presiding for most of the meeting, turning over the Chair to Marilyn Nasserden towards the end of the meeting.  Reports were heard from local Canadian chapters and regions.

The winners of the 2006 Melva J. Dwyer Award were :

Canadian Centre for Architecture and Douglas & McIntyre for the exhibition catalogue The 60s: Montreal Thinks Big / Les années 60 : Montréal voit grand.

“This is a publication that has greater potential beyond the exhibition itself. As a reference tool on the city of Montreal, the book provides useful information for architectural, sociological and political studies, and more. The book also captures an era that has had a huge impact on the arts in Canada. There is much written about visual art, including painters, sculptors, and art movements in Quebec for this time period of art history but nothing specifically celebrating the city’s architecture. This book certainly fills a gap as far as the topic is concerned. The book is beautifully designed, well organized, with good visuals, timelines and maps. It is written by experts in the field, scholarly and well researched. The extensive bibliography and listing of architects and engineers active in Montreal at the time will facilitate further studies on the topic."

The jury members for the 2006 award were : Kenlyn Collins, Winnipeg Art Gallery Library, Winnipeg MB; Marilyn Nasserden, University of Calgary Library; Calgary, AB; and Peter Trepanier, National Gallery of Canada Library, Ottawa, ON.   Marilyn Nasserden presented the award at the Convocation Ceremony in Banff. 

Jury members for the 2007 Melva J. Dwyer Award were appointed in fall 2006.  The jury members for the 2007 award are: Lynn Brockington, Librarian, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver BC; Carole Goldsmith, Head, Media Collection & Reference Librarian, Fine & Performing Arts, Bennett Library, Simon Fraser University; and Michele Laing, Branch Head, Musagetes Architecture Library, School of Architecture, University of Waterloo, Cambridge ON.  Calls for nominations for the 2007 Dwyer Award were posted during the winter.  The Award will be announced and presented during convocation ceremonies at the annual ARLIS/NA Conference in Atlanta in April 2007.

The History of Art Libraries in Canada project was successfully launched in May 2006.  James Rout arranged for the hosting of this publication on the ARLIS/NA Canada website on the server at the Banff Centre.

The Chair of ARLIS/NA Canada Marilyn Nasserden attended one meeting of ARLIS/NA MOQ – the Spring 2006 meeting in Ottawa, June 2; one meeting of ARLIS/NA Ontario – the Spring 2006 Chapter meeting at York University, Toronto, June 15; and two meetings of ARLIS/NA Northwest: the Banff Conference chapter meeting and the Fall 2006 Chapter meeting at Portland State University Branford P. Miller Library, November 11.  An important issue addressed this year was the signing of chapter affiliation agreements and related topics such as chapter insurance.

The ARLIS/NA Canada website was updated from time to time using the web content management system.  In addition, Marilyn began discussions with Wanda Noel, a copyright lawyer, regarding the development of a set of best practice guidelines for visual resources in Canada.

Submitted by: Marilyn Nasserden

Telephone: (403) 220-3795
Fax: (403) 282-6024