2005 Annual Report ARLIS Canada

Incoming Chapter Officers, from May 2006

Marilyn Nasserden, Chair

Jonathan Franklin, Past Chair

Cheryl Siegel, Secretary/Treasurer

Ilga Leja, Atlantic Region Representative

Mary Lochhead, Prairie Region Representative

Isabelle Crépeau, ARLIS/MOQ (Montreal-Ottawa-Quebec) Chapter Representative

Mary Kandiuk, ARLIS/Ontario Chapter Representative

Cheryl Siegel, ARLIS/Northwest Chapter Representative


On Monday 4 April 2005, thirteen Canadian members gathered for the annual business meeting at the ARLIS/NA Conference in Houston, with Jonathan Franklin presiding.  Reports were heard from local Canadian chapters and regions.


The winners of the 2005 Melva J. Dwyer Award were Jonathan Franklin and the National Gallery of Canada Library, for the Index to Nineteenth-Century Canadian Catalogues of Art / Index des catalogues d'art parus au Canada au XIXe siècle.  The jury was impressed by all the nominated publications, but considered the Index to Nineteenth Century Canadian Catalogues of Art to be the most scholarly and best researched, with the broadest appeal and applicability.  It was also commended as a bilingual publication, which will be widely used as an art reference source across the country, filling a gap in the documentation of Canadian art and art activity.  The jury members for the 2005 award were: Ilga Leja, NSCAD University, Halifax NS; Nicole Gjertsen, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby BC; and Paul Chenier, Canadian Centre for Architecture, Montreal QC.  Paul Chenier presented the award at the 2005 ARLIS/NA convocation ceremony, which was held at the Stude Hall, Rice University, in Houston. 


Jury members for the 2006 Melva J. Dwyer Award were appointed in fall 2005. The jury members are: Kenlyn Collins, Winnipeg Art Gallery Library, Winnipeg MB; Marilyn Nasserden, University of Calgary, Calgary AB; Peter Trepanier, National Gallery of Canada Library, Ottawa ON.  Calls for nominations for the 2006 Dwyer Award were posted during the fall.  The winner will be announced at the ARLIS/NA annual conference in Banff in 2006.  During the year, the Chair compiled a full list of past recipients of Melva J. Dwyer Award and submitted it to ARLIS/NA web site editor for posting.


The History of Art Libraries in Canada project is coming to fruition under the editorship of Jo Beglo.  The high costs of translation and editing for a bilingual print publication inspired a proposal to transform the project into an online publication to be hosted on the ARLIS/Canada website.  A special funding request was successfully submitted to ARLIS/NA, and the site will be launched at the Banff conference in May 2006.  The prospectus for the HAL project can be found at www.fis.utoronto.ca/people/affiliated/arlisont/Prospectus-HAL.pdf.


The Chair of ARLIS/Canada Jonathan Franklin attended two meetings of ARLIS/MOQ, two of ARLIS/Ontario and one of ARLIS/NW.  He also researched the history of CARLIS and ARLIS/Canada and submitted details to Stephen Patrick for the ARLIS/NA timeline; posted a survey on carlis-l concerning possible consortium of Canadian art museum libraries and collated the responses; and updated the ARLIS/Canada website from time to time using the web content management system.

Submitted by: Jonathan Franklin


telephone (613) 990 0590

fax (613) 990 6190